Cataloging Our Records: C – S

About a month ago I embarked on my goal of cataloging our records (catch the first post here) and I’ve been diligently working through our entire collection. After a day of teaching online all day, the last thing I want to do is sit still or look at a screen, so methodically cataloging our records has been an interesting and interactive project that harkens back to an earlier day…except that I’m using an app on my phone to search & categorize each album (but you get the idea!).

Going through our vinyl records is also strangely exhausting. First off, I’m standing over stacks of records, going back and forth between a table and the record player for three hours at a time. By the end of the night, I’m worn out. Also, the albums are old and dirty, causing a lot of broken nails and cardboard paper cuts.

At this point, I’ve cataloged just over 250 records (and created a ‘no thank-you’ pile of maybe 30 more), from A to S. You would think I don’t have many more to go since I’m close to the end of the alphabet, but what you DON’T know is that I also have foreign, miscellaneous, and holiday sections, along with a bunch of singles.

Interesting Discoveries: I might possibly own more Johnny Mathis albums than anything else (handed down from my stepmom’s parents). Also, my Prince and the Revolution: Purple Rain and Madonna: Like a Virgin (which I picked up at Goodwill 20 years ago) are special promo editions from The Netherlands.

Most Valuable: We’ve actually had some valuable finds. For instance, a couple Death Grips albums worth over $600 a piece.

Most Surprising: I don’t think I’ve ever really heard Thor listen to Iron Maiden, but boy does he have a lot of their albums. Also, I had never heard of John Standefer before, I’m his newest fan. It’s the kind of music that says, I’m sitting in an open-air restaurant overlooking the beach while a live band plays over dinner; hand me a mai tai.

Once again, if you’re not in the mood to read – you can catch ALL the highlights below.

Leave a comment