It’s official. I’m THAT friend.

What are the steps involved when one decides to befriend a crow? How does one befriend a crow?

Already you think I’m crazy. That’s ok. According the internet, I’m not the only one wondering how to do this.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 8.06.01 PM.png

I’ve already got a regular squirrel and a couple chipmunks coming to my back patio – it’s time to branch out.

Some basic Google searching has given me some leads. I’ve also asked my friend’s son, a kindergartner, who happens to be an amateur crow expert after his class did a huge project on crows (though he’s skeptical of my ability to befriend a crow).

What do the experts say?

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 8.11.11 PM.png

In the fall, I was eating lunch outside my new workspace everyday, and crows were constantly hanging out. As I was anticipating “befriend a crow” on my next bucket list, I spent a lot of time scoping out the crow scene. They eat where I eat, I thought. This will be easy.

Now it’s April AND THOSE CROWS ARE NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. Do you know that pretty much everyday since early January I have been carrying around a sandwich bag full of peanuts and sunflower seeds, just waiting to make friends? One time I got desperate and fed a squirrel. Seriously, where are the crows?

Saying you want to befriend a crow isn’t something you necessarily share with people, even your close friends. People give me a look; one that says, “Is this a joke?” and when they realize that I am serious, they laugh as if it is a joke. There was a week where my inbox was filled with really bad crow memes & gifs. Ha. Ha.

But seriously – that little girl in Seattle did it – why can’t I? I’m not even a bird-lover and I’m jealous.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 8.36.32 PM.png

 

Initially my plan was to befriend the crows in secret. Then it would seem less crazy. Once I had my little crow buddies taking food from my hand everyday, it would be easier to nonchalantly share my pictures on Instagram, like, “Hey world – just me and a crow hanging out at lunch.” But from experience, I’ve got to publicize my quest because many of the people who read my blog have strange expertise in areas such as this.

Tell me world – what should I do? Wait around until the weather warms up? Start having out at a park everyday? The weather in Portland has been awful this year, and I don’t exactly relish the idea of waiting around on a cold, soggy bench.

rs_500x252-160603115821-500-brandon-lee-the-crow-060316

Leave a Reply

