#12 – Get an updated headshot. Check.

It was the fall of 2004, and I had recently just moved back to Portland from college. I still hadn’t decided to be a teacher, and had pledged to be single until my 50s. Days were spent watching Felicity and going to the gym and eating cereal. Nights were spent with all my other unemployed college grad friends, drinking cans of Rainier at The Matador. The simple life.

Then I ran into an old acquaintance at the gym, Thor (now my husband), who invited me to a Halloween party across town. I’m pretty sure he invited me because he didn’t own a car and wanted a ride, but I wrangled my friend, Julia, into a costume and we planned to ditch him if it didn’t work out. Luckily, it was an epic party, where the guys who lived there were hosting their own funerals – coffins, flowers, and eulogies. At some point, I met a girl who had just moved to Portland from New York, and we hit it off and exchanged numbers…which ensued a couple years of pretty wild nights out. And not too long after, Summer partied at Thor and my’s wedding, and then moved to Seattle and became a teacher.

Though it was hard to hang out with all those miles (and life experiences) in between, we’ve managed to stay in touch. Today, she has relocated just across the river to Vancouver and has started her own event planning & photography business so I asked her to help me with one of my year’s final bucket list items – get an updated headshot.

The last professional headshot I had taken was four jobs ago, and a haircut seven inches shorter. As I’ve had multiple requests this last year for a headshot, I felt that I really needed an update (if nothing else, for my Twitter profile LOL).

Summer was always creative and classy (even after those Jagermeisters) so I knew I could trust her, as I’m not the kind of person who typically likes to pose for photos. So here’s a sampling, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the result.

LindseyHeadshots(8of22).jpg

LindseyHeadshots(1of22).jpg

LindseyHeadshots(18of22).jpg

As we have entered the Holiday season, I totally recommend calling Summer for pics – she specializes in family and kids’ pictures but can clearly do professional stuff, too. Her website is super cool (plug plug plug plug plug): http://www.witandwhimsyevents.com

Leave a Reply

