Books of March

Well, pat me on the back and send me a high five. I read four (almost five) books this month.

Unknown.jpeg

Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes – Caroline Kepnes is officially my new favorite author. Having loved You earlier this year, I couldn’t wait for this sequel to come out. I can’t rave about these books enough. How is it that she can make an obsessive and violent stalker the protagonist of the book? This one picks up mostly where You left off, except Joe transplants himself to California. His internal monologues about all of the vain and insipid millennials of California are music to my ears. It’s hard to describe this story because I don’t want to give spoilers but all I can say is that I loved loved loved You and Hidden Bodies and I’m sooooo excited that it’s been picked up by Showtime. I’m already doing the casting in my head. Where can I get a “Joe Goldberg for President” t-shirt?

Unknown-1.jpeg

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle – The synopsis of this book is deceiving; I thought I was going to get a Ready Player One sort of read, and it is definitely not that. WIWV is told from the perspective of a highly intelligent, possibly on the spectrum, game designer named Sean. But sort of backwards (think Memento) where you know something terrible has physically scarred him beyond repair, but you’re not sure what or how. Sometimes Sean fantasizes about Conan the Barbarian in such a deep and intricate way that you are taken to another world, and then dropped back into his sad, reclusive life where he runs a mail-order RPG. This book was deep. Like really heavy subtext in here. A great read, but not for the faint of heart.

Unknown-2.jpeg

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay – Once I hit the beach in Maui, I needed a lighter read – you know, serial killer stuff. Having never actually watched the show but always wished I had, I picked up the first in the Dexter series. I really liked it until about 3/4 of the way through. Sure, it’s campy and sometimes funny, but the end was so melodramatic. *Spoiler Alert* I mean, really, Dexter’s long lost evil brother is the serial killer that he’s been hunting? Really? The Young & the Restless does an evil twin every other year and even their plots are more complex. That being said, I do still want to check out the first season of the show having read the first book. Will I read the next one? Maybe on my next vacation.

Unknown-3.jpeg

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway – (What? You think I only read trash? I have a degree in Literature, people!) Having gone to Paris last summer, I was interested in this memoir because Hemingway starts off talking about his poorer and lesser known days living in the heart of Paris. He hangs with Gertrude Stein and longingly stares at James Joyce through fancy restaurant windows. You get a sense that he is chasing his writing, but by the last quarter of the book, he focuses on his time with F. Scott Fitzgerald, who ends up being a lot more messed up than I realized. Fitzgerald’s wife is a jealous partying cheater who purposefully keeps him from writing, and Hemingway plays the straight man trying to hold things together. The book ends on an upward note, but you still get the sense that he is hungry (literally and figuratively) for more.

 

Seriously – I can’t get over Hidden Bodies. Go read these books. You won’t be able to put them down.

Leave a Reply

