Ode to Arnold Schwarzenegger

I’ve found a kindred spirit, and his name is Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Laugh all you want, but it’s true.

I’ve already made it well known that he is my favorite actor (again, laugh all you want) but no one else stars in more of my absolute all-time favorite movies, plus he’s always been over-the-top…and I like anyone who’s over-the-top (I’m talking to you Gaga, Kanye, Snooki). However, this month I uncovered Arnold’s autobiography and discovered a whole new understanding of this insanely dynamic person.

IMG_6382.jpg

At the gym, I suddenly found the momentum to drastically change up my workouts and increase the intensity. I’m only 1/4 of the way through this monster of a book but already he’s someone who never stops thinking, moving, connecting – whether it’s bodybuilding, networking with key stakeholders in bodybuilding and movies, or taking language and business classes at community college to get ahead.

Every night when I settled into bed to read a few chapters, I would come across something new and think, Wow! He never stops! or Wow! He really tackles everything that gets thrown at him! Immediately, I respected him in new ways.

Then I came across this:

IMG_6409.jpg

IMG_6410.jpg

Does this not sound like me? And my blog?? I’m telling you, somewhere in my blood line is a Schwarzenegger.

arnold-schwarzenegger-02.jpg

Again, laugh all you want. But recently when I complained about my misery at work, a friend suggested, “Try to be average just for once,” in an effort to help me come to terms with not reaching my own high reaching goals. I really thought about that for a couple days. No, more like grappled with that. Those people that I look up to who are truly successful are anything but average; they stand out.

So I decided that this week I would go back to being ME, and stand out. WAY OUT. Screw anyone who doesn’t like it. Coincidentally, this has already been the one of the most efficient and rewarding weeks in awhile.

I can’t wait to read the other 3/4 of his book and see what else I can glean from his story, but in the meantime I’m going to keep my kindred spirit in the back of my brain.

And Arnold – if you read this – you’ve got my vote for President.

arnold_vote4me.jpg

 

One thought on “Ode to Arnold Schwarzenegger

Leave a Reply

