My Three Guilt-Free Recipes

Alright – this post is by request. Yesterday I wrote about my year of nutrition coaching so today I will share some of the recipes that saved me as I learned to phase out sugar and all the other junk.

*DISCLAIMER* Even before working with a nutritionist, I never ate bread. IMHO, it’s not worth the empty calories and it makes me hella tired, so if you’re a bread person, maybe this won’t solve your problems. That being said, I am definitely a sweets person; candy, cake, tapioca pudding – everything.

PROTEIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

I stole this one from another blog, Simply Taralynn, and have made small modifications to try out different versions, but I think these are great and Thor thinks they are at least satisfying.

IMG_5284

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix two scoops vanilla protein powder (Quest protein powder worked the best for me), 1 mashed banana, 1/4 cup ground flax seeds, and 1 scoop powdered peanut butter (I use PB2). If you want to get crazy, add a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and/or try chocolate powdered peanut butter. Fold in 2 tbsp of dark chocolate chips (get the highest % cocoa you can find). Drop them onto a greased cookie sheet once you have a cookie batter consistency and bake for about 12 minutes.

My Lose It app calculated this recipe to 3 grams fat, 10 grams carbohydrates, and 8 grams protein for two cookies.

(Versus a serving of Nabisco chocolate chip cookies: 10 grams fat, 28 grams carbohydrates, 3 grams protein)

KYLE’S (mostly) SUGAR FREE ROOTBEER FLOAT

I stole this one from my former student teacher and reigning bodybuilding champ, Kyle.

Get yourself some Zevia root beer and Arctic Zero (I’ve found it at my fancier grocery stores). Make a float.

Unknown155166-332x425-Arctic-Zero-Pint---Cookies-&-Cream0 grams fat, 5 grams carbohydrates, 3 grams protein.

(Versus a small root beer float from Arby’s: 5 grams fat, 70 grams carbohydrates, 2 grams protein)

GRILLED TOMATO PALEO BURGER

I know I stole this one from somewhere, but for the life of my I can’t remember – so I’m sorry I can’t give credit where it’s due.

Mix your ground protein of choice (I prefer super lean beef or water buffalo, but paleo fans might prefer lamb) with some chopped green onion, salt, pepper, and garlic. Grill your burger to desired doneness. Slice a beefsteak tomato in half and carve out the seeds and inner parts. Grill it or bake it face down for about 4-5 minutes along with some sliced onions. Use the tomato in place of a bun and top with the grilled onions. Throw some sweet potato fries on the side if you got ’em.

*Yes, you do see some BBQ and mayo in the picture; they are homemade from scratch and I’m good with that. I’m not officially ready to give up condiments.*

IMG_5108

4 oz buffalo patty: 16 grams fat, 0 carbs, 34 grams protein

(Versus a Burger King Whopper without cheese: 37 grams fat, 54 grams carbohydrates, 31 grams protein)

Got any good recipes or replacements for naughty foods? I’d love to have more.

One thought on “My Three Guilt-Free Recipes

Leave a Reply

