#11 – Watch the entire series of The Wire. Check.

First off, if you didn’t catch why this is on my 2015 bucket list, read it here; it will give you some much needed context.

Also, I apologize because I know I’m a decade behind on this – but hey! I crossed a big one off the list!

50lfiMQ

Today I finished the last episode of HBO’s The Wire, and frankly I’m astounded at my miraculous achievement. For years, I’ve whined and complained that I had no interest in watching the series – and even got started at one point, only to quit in total boredom. More surprisingly, I watched a bulk of the series while on my trip to Europe. 

How many episodes did I watch in Europe? 23. It makes it sound like I didn’t do anything but watch, but take two episodes times ten days and it just happened.

Have you watched The Wire? Now that I’m done, I’ll still attest that it isn’t my favorite show. It’s way too gritty and depressing for me. I’m not saying it was a bad show – quite the opposite – it’s just that I need some fantasy in my leisure time to escape the harsh reality of real life.

BPx6dkf

Season Four was like watching a recording of all the years I taught in a super low income school. Guess what? The school system is SCREWED, and it’s going to keep churning crap until eternity – and who suffers? Poor kids. Kids of color. The teachers. They sure nailed that topic.

That being said, if you’re not a teacher (or you’ve only been lucky enough to teach in middle or upper class schools), then I highly suggest you do watch because maybe it will give you some perspective of what we deal with on a daily basis. Also, what those kids deal with when they are out of school and just why standardized tests are such a sham.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13927-1370443745-1

Don’t even get me started on the police….

Moving on, my bff, Courtney, was nice enough to be watching the show on her own at the same time. You know, kind of like moral support! We constant texted thoughts or questions and she finished today, too. TEAMWORK! Naturally, I had us take the “Which The Wire Character Are You?” quiz.

Drumroll please…….I am……..

Screen Shot 2015-07-17 at 8.57.03 PM

Seems pretty apt to me – and I actually felt like he was one of the few stand-ups dudes on the show, but not everyone agrees with me on that. Interestingly enough, I’ve also gotten “Littlefinger” (played by the same actor) on the “Which Game of Thrones Character Are You?” Quiz. Not sure what that says about me…

(By the way, both Courtney and my husband, Thor, got Stringer Bell. Not sure what that says about them.)Screen Shot 2015-07-17 at 9.04.27 PM

So readers – you’ve made it this far – what should my next show be????????

Leave a Reply

