Wha-Eva!

Last year, I watched one classic movie a month as part of my bucket list, and considered mixing it up this year with one of my favorite movies every month – but then I thought to myself that’s not really learning anything new, and that’s essentially the purpose of this blog. So I didn’t.

But I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it’s my blog sooooo….

giphy

A lot of fun things have been happening lately; summer vacation is literally two weeks away, and that is prime play time for teachers like me. But right now I’m just excited for this Saturday because we’ll be going to the Ashes to Ashes Round 5 Breakdance Battle.

SOOOO I’m going to blog about one of my favorite shameful movies:

boty-2Battle of the Year (2013). It was as if this movie was written for me, and only me; and when it was released on my birthday weekend, I almost fainted. First, you’ve got Josh Holloway (Sawyer from LOST) as a washed up basketball coach – grieving the loss of his wife and son over a bottle of bourbon. Then you have a rag tag underdog team of dancers (led by Chris Brown) who just need a coach to win the ultimate world breakdancing championship: BOTY. But they can’t do it alone – oh no. They enlist Josh Peck (from Drake and Josh) to help get the team together and overcome their differences. This requires montage after montage of awesome dance training scenes. Once they finally arrive in France and begin to compete, you have a hundred more sweet montages. And then just when you’re like, “How could they lose?!” They actually do, to their Korean rivals. Which was ok because it seemed like a perfect set-up for a sequel, but sadly I don’t think it’s going to happen.

Ok – so this movie got like one measly little star – so WHAT? It’s so bad it’s good. (Especially if you’re a giant LOSTDrake and Josh, and Chris Brown fan like myself).

2 thoughts on “Wha-Eva!

Leave a Reply

