Moving Sideways to Get Forward

In 2014, I initially made one of my “bonus” goals to get hired as an Assistant Principal. I hemmed and hawed, and asked everyone I knew whether I should do it or not. Finally, I said, “What’s my problem already?!” and applied for our district’s AP pool. Then everyday I dreaded the phone ringing, saying I had an interview. While I have no doubts that I could do the job (and learn to do it well), the question really has always been do I want the job.

The phone didn’t ring, and when they finally sent me a “thanks but no thanks” email – I felt completely relieved, not rejected. This year, I was back in the classroom (although I always have my little things on the side) and in February I began to feel the proverbial claustrophobic panic of doing the same old thing for the next school year. Don’t get me wrong – teaching can be super fun, but it’s not enough for me. I want to get out and see other teachers do their thing, and help them get better at doing their thing. I want to advocate for them when the principal can’t remember what it’s like to be a teacher, and temper them when they can’t understand why the principal is so overwhelmed.

This year, I didn’t even think of applying for an assistant principal position, but last week when I saw an instructional coaching position open under a principal I totally respect, I thought, “Ok – I’m going to give it a go.” A few days later, I had accepted the job just a couple hours after interviewing.

So there it is: I have a new job. The IRONY of it all. Why didn’t I make it a 2015 goal so I could cross it off my list??

Just a couple weeks ago I read a quote that said something like, “Sometimes a step forward requires a couple side steps first,” but I can’t seem to find the exact quote, or who said it. But I reflected that I’ve been impatient, and trying to force applying for a different job just because I should. Working at my current school for the last two years has been the biggest “bucket filling” experience I ever could have had. The parents and kids and staff and leadership are pretty much out of a magazine, and everyone has treated me so well. Yeah, professionally it’s a sidestep, but personally it’s been a big step forward. (BTW, Amanda, you’re the one who made all this happen).

Who knows what next year will look like, but I keep reminding myself that I need to do things my own way.

ec04349dfdd519b045188a302e1f58db

2 thoughts on “Moving Sideways to Get Forward

Leave a Reply

