Letters of January

One of my ongoing goals for the year is to write one letter a week (or maybe more like four letters a month). Obviously I spend a lot of time online, and I’m thrilled with the ease at which I can communicate with friends across the world. That’s pretty rad.

I’m the first to admit that I haven’t written very many real letters in the last couple years, but I do think actual letters sent through the mail have some purpose.

For instance, when we got married, I used a gift card to purchase a trust Kitchenaid can opener. In less than a year, the can opener totally broke. Like seriously? I wrote a stern letter to Kitchenaid with the broken can opener enclosed, and a couple months later, I got a new one in the mail. Guess what? That one broke, too. I sent it back, explaining how pathetic it was that the replacement broke, and that I would tell all my friends and family how shoddy Kitchenaid products were. A couple months later, I got TWO new can openers and a $35 check good for any Kitchenaid items.

I’m also a big proponent of using handwritten cards in the workplace. When I was an instructional coach, I made it a point to drop at least one card a week into a teacher’s mailbox where I acknowledged the good work I saw them doing. I could have sent it in an email, or just passed the info along to the principal, but that handwritten card had more weight.

(When I went back to the classroom, I wrote a nice card to our new Assistant Principal to welcome her to our staff. Not long after, we realized she was a total she-devil and I was forced to ironically stare at my own card displayed on her shelf as she lectured me on good listening skills).

Since I was a kid, I’ve been the kind of person who writes letters to the editor, complains (or compliments) a product to a company, or expresses my opinion to a local politician. As my friend Courtney once said, I’m “full of advice.” Sadly, I’ve felt “too busy” to write letters recently.

Today I sat down at my desk and spent 30 minutes writing four letters and then dropped them in the mail. Strangely, I haven’t been annoyed with any products or felt compelled to passive aggressively chime in on any local issues, so I chose to write to four former students.

Three of them were in my class last year and all moved to different schools. The final letter I chose carefully, and ended up with a student from two years ago at my former school. Brian was a kid who was way to smart for his own good, and a total rebel at heart, which was difficult since he came from a relatively strict Vietnamese family. He stayed out of real trouble (rare for that school) and I always knew he would get the joke when others didn’t.

The best memory I have of Brian was a day right after lunch. I always had a list of directions projected on the whiteboard so that kids would get settled while I dealt with attendance, student questions, etc. One day as we walked in, I glanced up at the screen and instead of my directions, there was a long paragraph that said, “This is what happens when you talk shit about me…” and it went on to call out an anonymous group of students who were gossiping a little too much. I turned off the projector immediately and since there were no names attached, I looked around; Brian was the only one paying attention.

The counselor and I pulled him into the hall and were like, “What was that…?” He totally came clean, very calm, and explained he wanted to “make a statement” against those who start drama. I couldn’t stop laughing, and after he apologized we called it good. Once he was out of earshot, the counselor goes, “That kid’s got balls!” 

If there’s one thing I respect (and expect) from my students, it’s to stand up for yourself and what you believe. He didn’t exactly do it the right way, but it was still pretty hilarious.

Leave a Reply

