#7 – Do an old fashioned rope climb. Check! Sort of….

I should have clarified from the very beginning that I never ever thought I would be able to actually ascend the rope to the top. The goal of doing an old fashioned rope climb was more about the sheer curiosity of how much I could do. Never in my physical education growing up did the PE teacher ever say, “Today we are going to do the rope climb.” But I remember that damned rope dangling from the ceiling and thinking, I want to try that.

Alas, it’s been a nagging thought since I was 12.

Today during our after school boot camp (yes, we teachers workout in the gym after school), I convinced our PE Teacher, Ken, to let down the rope and give me a try. A sad, flailing try.

That’s right; I couldn’t climb the rope. I mean, I could hang on. Eventually, I learned to twist the rope in between my feet and I think I got three good pulls, but then I slid down after giving myself a hernia. I tried with shoes, without shoes, and finally without socks. All the same result.

However, I wasn’t the only one to give the rope a try, the rest of the group tried, too, all with similar results (our trainer included!). My verdict? A rope climb is FREAKING HARD.

Of course, in hindsight, I was like, Maybe I should look up rope climbing techniques on Youtube…

Ah-ha! We were doing it all wrong! We didn’t apply the foot clamping technique. So while I’m crossing off the goal because my curiosity has been satisfied, I’m also ready to try to some “foot clamping” to really decide whether it’s impossible or not.

Leave a Reply

