Jager Toe 2017

I’m not quite sure in what order it all happened last night, but after tasting a multitude of holiday ales, three friends and I made fist bump pact to travel to the Yukon Territory in the summer of 2017. All for the goal of letting a preserved human toe touch our lips.

Have you heard of the Sour Toe Cocktail? My buddy, Jim, first told me about it last summer. Way up in the Yukon Territory, in a place called Dawson City, there is a bar called the Sourdough Saloon. And in that saloon rests a preserved human toe, for which you can pay a simple $10 to have it plopped into your drink.

The saying goes: “You can drink it fast, you can drink it slow – but the lips have gotta touch the toe.”

Canada-Yukon-Sour-Toe-Cocktail

I’M SO IN.

But getting up to Dawson City, YT isn’t exactly a quick jaunt. I looked up how long the road trip would be: 42 hours. No thank you. What if we flew to Vancouver, BC and drove from there? 38 hours. NO!!! Ok fly to Vancouver and hop a flight to Whitehorse, BC, and then drive 6 hours to Dawson. Maybe…

I almost think it might be easier to procure a preserved toe than to get us all up there at the same time…but Jim says if we plan ahead of time, it’s a sure thing.

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 7.04.22 PM

Thus our travel details aren’t exactly firm, but we’ve got three years to figure it out. We talked about what drink we might want our toe in. Our friend, Rachel, instantly goes, “Jagermeister,” to which we replied, “Grosssss!” I think I might want to savor my toe in a large pint of beer. Either way, we agreed that “Jager Toe” is a great name for our adventure.

When I’ve mentioned this distinct desire to “kiss the toe,” most people give me a horrified look. That’s cool, it may not be your bag, but frankly these are exactly the kinds of things I want to fill my bucket list with over the next several years.

Jager Toe 2017 – here we come!

One thought on “Jager Toe 2017

Leave a Reply

