Books of September

I was pretty slammed in September with that whole first month of school thing, so my reading was a little stunted. I already posted about one book, Who Gets Promoted, Who Doesn’t, and Why (read about it here). But here’s what I managed:

JoylandJoyland by Stephen King – Man, I think I went a couple years without reading a Stephen King book, and now I’ve read two this summer. Joyland is about a college boy who runs off to work at an amusement park for the summer and learns the life of a carny…and MAN do I love carny slang (no really, I do). Most of the novel felt like an authentic journey of a guy really discovering his adult self in a really unique setting, and then there’s a bit of a murder mystery in the background. For me, it seemed as if the murder mystery got stuck in there unnecessarily. It’s Stephen King so of course there’s going to be some supernatural stuff happening, and mysterious characters that you’re not sure you trust, but I could have lived without the showdown at the end. Nonetheless, it was campy in a good way, and I had a good read.

EUnknowndward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo – Ok, you got me. I’ve already read this book eight times before. I first heard a chapter read aloud by my friend, Amanda, back in grad school, and I’ve subsequently taught the book every year to my students. That being said, I get something new out of reading it every time, and even thought it’s a “children’s” book, I believe there’s some pretty big stuff in there. In a nutshell, you’ve got an incredibly self-absorbed china rabbit (who cannot talk or move by himself), named Edward Tulane. Unexpected events cause him to be owned by several different characters until he really discovers the meaning of his own existence. It’s funny, it’s sad, it’s deeeeep. Little kids love it, big kids love it, adults love it. Now when are they going to make the damned movie?!

I also didn’t finish my current read The Way of the Seal: Think Like an Elite Warrior to Lead and Succeed so you’ll just have to wait till the end of October for that one!

Leave a Reply

