Ok so, like, for real now. FOR REAL. I’ve got to get cracking on my goals. I have less than three months and a lot of work to do. So, like, yeah, let’s do this.

And yet here I am parked on the couch, with a pumpkin pie in the oven, catching up on The Young & the Restless, at 11:30am on a Saturday. Feels more like, “Do nothing.”

The first month of school is officially over, and after taking my class on a Friday field trip yesterday and then going for hour happy hour that turned into midnight karaoke, I’m beat.

My teaching partner even bought me a rad new hot pink jump rope for my jump rope tricks. Also, it’s Day Four of our October Burpee challenge (of which I’m the coordinator), but I just can’t peel myself off the couch. Help meeeeeeeeeee….

I’ve read a lot about how with working out or setting professional goals, there is the “two steps forward, one step back” approach, and I’m going to take that one into consideration today. A nice long step back…so that tomorrow I can bust out some jump rope tricks, buy opera tickets, and go for a nice long run.

But, like, for real, I’m going to sneak in some dinner time burpees.

4 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve taken up running over the last three months and the two steps forward, one step back most definitely applies there! There are some days where I’ve run all week and for no reason have one terrible run that puts me off, and then other days where I’ve rested a lot and my run is absolutely sublime! I definitely try to mix it up, so I can have some days just to schlep around and recoup in body and mind.

  2. Going running right now for the first time since school started in August. Let’s see if I can get back into a routine. Sometimes other great things get in the way. Give yourself a little break though. Some of your goals are unattainable until the snow flies. And doesn’t everyone want a Christmas themed coloring book ?! 😉 Happy October!

Leave a Reply

