Gearing up for the fair

The Oregon State Fair is less than a month away and it’s time to get cracking on my submissions. This year I’m taking a plunge and submitting three different entries: marshmallows, vegan bread, and dollhouse furniture. 

Last year, I tried my hand at marshmallows and later realized mine were far too small compared to the competition, so this year is a do-over of sorts. Next, I am unearthing a pretty bomb recipe for vegan banana bread (perfected when my husband, Thor, was actually vegan). And last, I’ve always wanted to try to make my own dollhouse furniture, and submitting an entry for the fair gives me an actual deadline to do so.

Over the last two days, I’ve been poring over articles and pictures online about making dollhouse items. I’m not a fancy wood worker or metalsmith, and 98% of my crafting tools are sitting in the cabinets of my classroom – but I bought some polymer clay and have just been experimenting at my dining room table. Yesterday, I enlisted my friend, Courtney, to come play with the clay and give me some feedback. Here’s what I’ve made so far.

IMG_2625 IMG_2631

 

Making this crap is time consuming, and mentally exhausting, but it’s a good start. Also, another friend told me last night that I can experiment with clear nail polish to make them shiny and I hope to try that tonight. I’m hoping to make a couple chairs and a table by next week. It’s a process…

If you like baking or crafting, I highly recommend submitting something to the state fair. It really doesn’t matter how amateur you are – everything gets displayed. All you have to do is go to the fair website, fill out the submission form, and then drop your stuff off on the designated date. It doesn’t cost anything to submit, just the fair admission to go see it on display.

Of course, I have a lot of free time in the summer to mess around with recipes and make crafty stuff, but as someone who likes to go to the fair anyway, it makes the experience even more fun. 

Leave a Reply

