#4 – Learn how to make mustard. Check.

Between Thor and I, we have what I like to call a “Condiment Problem.” You know in Fight Club when Edward Norton sadly remarks that his refrigerator was full of condiments but no food? That’s us. Thor has a thing for BBQ sauces, Japanese mayo, and Teriyaki Sauces. I have a thing for horseradish, fancy spreads, and mustards. I guess there are worse things to be addicted to.

Last year at the state fair, I was really scoping out all the foods that people submitted, looking for inspiration of what I might submit next (I’ve only done baked goods thus far). When I got to the condiment area a lightbulb went off: MUSTARD.

As Thor wanted to have some friends over to eat hot dogs this weekend (and I’m talking serious sausages that my dad gave us from his hot dog stand), I decided there’s no better time to try making mustard. I looked up several recipes and they seemed too easy, so I played around with them, but here’s the basic start (obtained from honest-food.net):

Prep Time: 12 hours

  • 6 tablespoons mustard seeds
  • 1/2 cup mustard powder 
  • 3 tablespoons vinegar (cider, white wine or sherry) 
  • 1/2 cup white wine or water 
  • 2 teaspoons salt 

OPTIONAL

  • 2 tablespoons honey 
  • 2 tablespoons grated fresh horseradish 
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh herbs (really any kind)
  1. Grind the whole mustard seeds for a few seconds in a spice or coffee grinder, or by hand with a mortar and pestle. You want them mostly whole because you are using mustard powder, too.
  2. Pour the semi-ground seeds into a bowl and add the salt and mustard powder. If using, add one of the optional ingredients, too.
  3. Pour in the vinegar and wine or water, then stir well. When everything is incorporated, pour into a glass jar and store in the fridge. Wait at least 12 hours before using. Mustard made this way will last several months in the fridge.

I really like a spicy mustard. I can never seem to have enough wasabi or horseradish on things, so I decided to make a Spicy Dill Mustard, and a Honey Mustard (even though I honestly kind of hate honey mustard). I used a fancy white wine and apple cider vinegar for both. Then for the spicy, I added two heaping spoonfuls of horseradish, a splash of liquid smoke, and a good tablespoon of fresh chopped dill. For the honey, I kept adding more and more honey because it never seemed sweet enough.

Image

 

The next night (since you let it sit 12 hours), I made myself a big sandwich to test out the results, and I was pleased.

Image

Then last night several people tried out the spicy dill mustard on their sausages and I heard a lot of good feedback (unfortunately I forgot to take pictures). It definitely cleared the sinuses. The honey was not so great. Now I’m thinking I’m going to try to perfect the spicy recipe (I would prefer it to be creamier) and it will probably be one of my state fair submissions.

So there you have it – my first goal of 2014 is DONE!

Leave a Reply

