How to be more accountable for goal setting

I just ran across this other blog post from Successify (a blog I try to read regularly) entitled 7 Reasons Why Your New Year’s Resolutions Fail and How to Fix Them and I really recommend this short read. I recently vented about my experience in the audience of a local talk show where the focus was on setting goals and resolutions (original blog post found here) and on a selfish level, these seven reasons really back up my argument. But no seriously, it’s good advice!

I wonder how many people set goals on January 1st, and feel like the world has gotten in the way already by January 11th. Coulda, shoulda, woulda.

Another tool I have been using for fitness and I highly recommend is an app called GYM PACT (did I blog about this in the past? maybe?). The gist is that you make a “pact” for how many days a week you want to work out and set an amount that you will get charged for each missed workout…but you also get paid a few bucks at the end of the week if you successfully completed your pact. Personally, I think it’s genius.

Here’s a screenshot of my current week:

Image

 

As you can see, my goal is to workout 5 days a week, at $5 per missed day. Tomorrow is the last day of the week, and I must workout tomorrow to not get charged. You can change the frequency or take a break as long as you set it up ahead of time. Last year, I used this app consistently for about five months and only missed like two workouts total (my phone kept glitching so I took a break until I got a new phone). The app checks in at your gym, or tracks your activity if you wear your phone on an armband.

Also, you can see that I’m trying their new feature which is tracking food. Apparently you set a fruit/vegetable goal and upload a pic for verification. I wanted to see how it worked, but really I just care about the workout accountability part.

The thing is, no matter how motivated you are, some days you just don’t feel like working out. My “screw the workout” triggers are wearing heels all day, someone inviting me to happy hour, or public school teacher fatigue. These are all lame reasons not to workout. Instead, the app gets me out the door (with low expectations) and then 9x out of 10, I have a great workout.

And man, that $2.92 I earn at the end of the week ends up feeling like a million bucks.

One thought on “How to be more accountable for goal setting

  1. Teacher fatigue is the worst kind of fatigue. Some days are so tiring, you are just ready to curl up in a ball and go to sleep. I had one of these days this week, I knew if I didn’t go out and run, I wouldn’t run for months. It was a great run.

Leave a Reply

