Talking about running

Once of my goals is to run 5 miles in 36 minutes or less. On one hand, it feels like a lofty goal; on the other hand, if I could run one mile in 6:23 last summer, why couldn’t I run five miles at 7:10? (Yeah, that just sounded illogical to me, too).

I’m not like a die hard barefoot ultra marathon chia seed in my pocket kind of runner, but if I go more than a week without running, something doesn’t feel right. Before I blew out my knee, my longest run was 11 miles. One summer in my 20s, I made a goal of trying to run 50 miles in one week (holy crap!) and I made it to 41 miles. Last year, I was in a big rush before work and powered 3.5 miles in 6:55/mile. 

Basically what I’m saying is, I know if I put my mind to it, I can accomplish this goal (insert cliqued motivational music here).

But today was not that day. I’ve still got that lingering bronchitis and struggled through a three-mile run. I feels like I’m sucking air through a straw. It particularly sucked when I was about 1.5 miles in (congratulating myself for getting out the door) and another girl sprinted past me, and continued to widen the gap between us until I lost her in the horizon. It never feels good to be someone else’s roadkill.

That’s ok. Blowing out my knee taught me a valuable lesson: patience. When I start to feel better, I will start following an actual plan.

In the meantime, there are some cool resources I recommend if you’re a runner, or getting into running (forgive me if I’ve posted any of these before).

1. Runner’s World just published a “Runner’s Guide to Weight Loss” that I enjoyed reading. A quick read on nutrition, workout ideas, etc. All you have to do is enter your email and they send you a link.

2. If you’re not using the Nike+ app to track your runs easily on your iPhone, you should be. I can’t believe I ever ran without it. I can easily access runs I did a year ago to look at my progress, check a map, or see how many miles my friends have run recently.

3. For Christmas, I bought Thor the new Nike Flashpack Running Jacket. Ok, ok, I don’t have one…yet. Lucky for us, we get the Nike employee discount, but if you’ve got the money to spend, then just do it (bad joke! sorry!). When I first saw the price tag, I steered him away from the rack, but then one night I saw two runners wearing it in pitch dark and they were unmistakably noticeable. I recently told a friend that the price tag of the jacket was a hell of a lot less than the price tag on a funeral.

4. It’s winter, so running gloves are essential. For me, personally, throwing on a regular pair of cotton gloves wouldn’t work. The Nike running gloves I have keep my hands perfectly warm, but they are super breathable and they have touch screen technology on the fingers. 

5. Running the same distance/route/treadmill gets boring, so I’m always bookmarking alternatives to pull out on those super bored days. I know most guys aren’t fans of Pinterest, but it’s a great place to store websites/articles that you find online easily. Here’s one that I use periodically.

Beat Boredom Treadmill Workout: A 45-min. treadmill workout with various exercises thrown in the mix to make time FLY by!

Please share if you have a nifty gadget, app, or website! I love learning about new things that can make my running more efficient or fun. 

10 thoughts on “Talking about running

      • I think it’s pretty genius. Basically you set up a goal for how many days you want to work out in a week, and then set an amount of money you will be charged for each day you miss. But then you make money (like a few bucks) for every week that you meet your goal. You can check into the app at any gym, or if you workout outside it measures your activity level if you carry your phone on an armband or something like that. Totally keeps me accountable!

  1. I use my Garmin watch and then use the Garmin website to track everything from heart rate, interval split times, elevation gain, distance, etc etc.

    I have also enjoyed using DailyMile. It is a social networking site you can use with whatever device you run with or you can enter your stats in manually. This way you can challenge friends, join a challenge with strangers, or just use it as a place to be a solitary soul logging in your accomplishments.

  2. I just recently downloaded the Nike + Running app to help me train for my 10Ks. I was told it cost $7, but it was free when I downloaded it, sweet! I assume it lets you listen to music while you’re using the app, right? Anywho, I’m excited to give it a try, my training starts tomorrow.

    • $7?! Yeah totally free. Sometimes I have pandora going in the background, and other times I choose an iTunes playlist. When you start using it more, you can also set up a challenge (like beat my fastest 5k, etc).

Leave a Reply

