Getting ready for the fair!

Today I spent the day making marshmallows in preparation for my submission to the Oregon State Fair tomorrow.

I’ve decided the best recipe is from here. Trust me, I’ve tried a few others that are extremely similar, but this recipe was the easiest/best. However, I did a little experimenting. I made three batches: coconut, vanilla, & Mexican Mocha. The first two were easy – just throw a little extract in at the very end (however we all agreed you could barely taste the coconut & next time I would put way more in). For the last batch, I followed the recipe, except I also mixed 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 4 tbsp water and threw it in the microwave for about 30 seconds to get it melty. I added it to the water/gelatin mixture BEFORE adding the sugar mixture. Then at the very end I dropped just a TINY bit of cinnamon extract in.

Image

I used a “miniature sandwich maker” that basically punches small shapes in sandwiches to cut them (most recipes suggest a pizza cutter, which DOES NOT WORK WELL.

Finally I had a few friends come over and try them out. We ate a lot. Ultimately, we were tied: 2 for vanilla, 2 for mexican mocha. We also tried toasting them on the stove, which turned out pretty well. Coconut was possibly the best, when toasted, but it’s not like the judges are going to whip out their skewers and a bonfire.

I’m going to have a few more people try them tomorrow for a final decision, and then I’ll drop off the winners to the state fair office in the afternoon. In the meantime, I’m glad this long day is o-v-e-r!

Leave a Reply

