Top 10 Things I Would Miss if I Became an Administrator

Today I start my last class to finish my my program to get my administrative license. I also have to finish my portfolio and tie up a few loose ends, but basically the light is at the end of the tunnel. Theoretically, I could throw my name in the the pool for Assistant Principals in March 2014.

But this summer has been a serious reality check. Two years ago when I started the program, I was terribly unsatisfied with size of my teacher salary and the lack of career mobility, so being an administrator just seemed like the next step. Now when people ask me about my plans in administration, I grimace a little. It doesn’t feel right. Something doesn’t click. The prospect doesn’t energize me like it used to.

The truth is that I’m sitting here right now in my pajamas, watching the Today Show while drinking coffee, surrounded by my cats. When the sun comes out, I’m going to go lay by the pool with a friend. Yes, this is my Monday morning. And tomorrow? basically the same thing. If I was a principal, I would probably be at work.

Teachers have it ROUGH during the school year, but mannnnnn oh mannnnnn we have it easy during the summer. At this point, every summer since I started teaching has been better than the one before, and I just don’t think I can give it up. As I near the end of my program, I feel a lot of pressure to make a decision and I’m pretty sure the reason I’ve been dragging my feet is because I’m 95% sure I no longer want to go into administration.

I am certain I would be a good principal. I just know it. But good god, the ones I know work seven days a week and they look tired. They are under so much pressure, and the closer I get the more I see little political games being played. 

Remember when you were a kid and how AWESOME summer break was? You had an endless amount of time to just play! Well summer break is like that for me, except with money and a car! Many of my friends are also teachers, so I can text someone and say, “Happy hour karaoke?” or “Want to go to the beach?” or “Let’s eat corn dogs at the fair!” and someone else is always ready to hang out. You can’t beat that.

Oh, did I mention a couple weeks off for Winter Break? A week for Spring Break? I choose to have my 9 month paycheck spread out over 12 months, so I still get paid, and I deserve it! So in March when I’m trying to figure out what to do, I’m going to come back and read this post to get some perspective because I just know I would have to give 90% of this stuff up.

Top 10 Things I Would Miss if I Became an Administrator

1. Ambush makeovers on KLG and Hoda

2. Leisurely workouts any day of the week

3. Waking up whenever I want

4. Laying bed reading celebrity gossip for an hour before getting out of bed

5. Going to Kansas 

6. Daytime karaoke

7. Walking to the grocery store for popsicles 

8. Tanning at Sauvie’s Island 

9. Berry picking

10. Double naps

Leave a Reply

