About my running…

If you’ve been reading my posts recently, you can probably tell just how absolutely busy I’ve been with work. Now it’s summer, and I’m realizing just how much I let my running go – all by accident.

In the last six weeks, I’ve still been working out regularly by going to my personal trainer, a boot camp class, running the tabor stairs, etc. Yet somehow I inadvertently took a running break. I think about running all the time, but I have this rule where I don’t run in the dark (don’t want to get hit by a car, get kidnapped, etc) so running before or after work wasn’t happening because I was leaving super early and coming home super late.

Today I got back on the horse and IT SUCKED. I had my brand new shoes and new shorts and new headphones and new iPhone 5 so I couldn’t blame the gear. I ran the same 3 mile route that I consider my “short” run, so I couldn’t blame terrain. The weather was overcast and a little misty, so I couldn’t blame the heat. All I could blame was my recent laziness.

I once learned that for every week you take off, you lose four weeks of the mitochondria you have in your cells (that was in an undergrad exercise and movement science class, so don’t quote me on that). Now that I have nothing but time to kill, I know that I can get back to where I was relatively easily, but it’s frustrating that I allowed my commitments at work supersede my commitments to myself.

Years ago I was reading a Runner’s World and I remember reading a quote by John Bryant (a massive long distance runner) that said, “My feeling is that any day I’m too busy to run is a day I’m too busy,” and that really resonated with me (obviously, since here I am remembering it so well). When people tell me they don’t have time to work out or run, I usually bust out that quote and am like, “Yeah! So now what?!” and yet I let myself slip.

In the beginning of May, this was a killer run I had:

Image

And today, this was my run:

Image

BOOOOOO! Even worse, I’m sitting here icing my knee because it’s more stiff than it has been in a couple months! Tomorrow I’ll do another easy run and hopefully it won’t suck so much…but today was a good reminder not to let things fall between the cracks.

I don’t know much about John Bryant, but if you’re curious here’s a link that talks about his pretty massive achievements: John Bryant has run more than 120,000 miles in his lifetime.

2 thoughts on “About my running…

  1. I hear you about the running in the dark thing. And when you don’t run, the stress builds and builds and my poor students feel the brunt of my stress…well I hope they don’t feel it too much. 😉 But I know when I run, things don’t bother me as much. I have patience and I am calm…but in the darks of Jan and Feb….I feel like a caged animal. So get out there an run…drive out to the falls or Bonneville and run along the river. Nature always makes me run lighter and easier.

    • Oooooh I like the idea of driving out to Bonneville. We used to run in Forest Park a lot before I blew out my knee but I don’t feel comfortable running there alone even though it’s SO CLOSE to my house. Running outside beats running inside, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

