Cake & Marshmallows ROUND TWO

Yesterday, my friend, Kerrie, celebrated her birthday, her graduation, and her new teaching job all in one big backyard party. I had so much fun making a four layered cake a couple weeks ago, I decided to give it another go. And since I knew there would be a bonfire, I also made more homeade marshmallows.

This time, I allowed myself to get a little more creative with the cake. I went with a vanilla cake filled with lemon curd, topped with cream cheese icing. It turned out pretty well except that I forgot birthday candles, so we threw one giant house candle on it.

I’ve never really been into cake, but now I’ve decided it’s pretty easy and fun (albeit a little time consuming) so I imagine I’ll be making several more over the summer.

My marshmallows didn’t turn out quite as good. First off, I ran out of corn syrup (marshmallows are primarily gelatin, corn syrup, sugar, and water) so I tried a new recipe that didn’t call for corn syrup. When I poured the batch into a pan to set, it was filled with little air bubbles, however I used this hand-dandy “mini sandwich maker” I bought from a student to cut shapes pretty perfect. At one o’clock in the afternoon, the marshmallows seemed like my best batch ever.

Good for looks, not for roasting

However, by the time we reached the party, they were getting a little melty (even though I stuck them in the refrigerator) and when I tried to roast them in the bonfire, they just melted into nothing. BOO! So next time I’m back to the corn syrup. 

Either way, it was a good party and we got to sit next to the fire, eat pulled pork & cake, and enjoy a summer evening before today’s rain rolled in.

Image
Image

One thought on “Cake & Marshmallows ROUND TWO

Leave a Reply

