#13: Bake a Four Layered Cake. Check.

At the end of every school year, I like to throw a Summer Birthday Party for my students rather than the proverbial end of the year party. This hits two birds with one stone: those kids that never get a birthday party get acknowledged, and we get our partying done two days before the school year is officially over and start cleaning early.

But what’s a birthday party without a cake? Last night I set to making my four layered cake (amongst a million mini sandwiches). Luckily, I work at a school where bringing homeade food is encouraged. Today, I have students bring a million great home cooked items like fried rice, samosas, sticky rice, etc. We had a potluck for lunch, and then afterwards I totally broke the rules and we had a real birthday cake (for like less than 10 seconds).

Image
In terms of the baking, I must disclaim that I already feel very confident in the kitchen. It’s just that I’m not a huge cake person, and I generally don’t have a reason to bake a cake. I’ve baked cakes before (boxed and from scratch) but never FOUR WHOLE LAYERS (sounds exciting, yeah?).
I’ll totally admit my cake is from Betty Crocker box mixes, but I made two batches with four different colors. When we cut the cake, the kids were like, “OH MY GOD! IT’S A RAINBOW! LOOK AT THE CAAAAAAAKE!!!” They were so impressed, and it was fun to have a surprise.
Image
 
 
Image
 
Did I mention this cake served 28 students?! And 3 teachers?! All by itself! I look forward to future cake baking occasions. 

Leave a Reply

