#20: Learn how to pick a lock. Check!

Holy crap! I can pick locks! 

Today I got home and my new novelty lock pick set was delivered, so I promptly opened it up and spread it out on the dining room table. A couple hours later, Thor came home and as he was putting down his stuff, he noticed my new toys on the table. “You’re one crazy bitch,” he laughed.

I watched to several different Youtube and How Stuff Works videos, but I had a really hard time finding something that seemed geared towards novices like myself. I realize there are very expensive and extensive lock picking kits out there, and I don’t intend to break into anyone’s house (unless they ask) or do this for a living. It’s just a new hobby, right? So I ditched the videos and decided to just try out some of the locks on my house.

My kit came with 4 basic picks (which I researched to be a C rake, L rake, diamond pick, and  what I think is a feeler pick). It also has a basic tension wrench. (Sadly, it DID NOT come with the faux James Bond credit card I was so looking forward to.) I figured I’d use the very little I learned from the videos and try to get a feel for the locks and tools.

Image

However, it didn’t take more than five minutes for me to unlock my bathroom door. Assuming it was a fluke, I tried again, and got it almost immediately. I tried successfully at least ten times and could definitely figure it out. Then I tried my bedroom door – just as easy.

The front door was a little tricker, but after a few tries I also managed to unlock our deadbolt (not the most comforting thought). That one will take a little practice. Tomorrow, I plan to try my classroom cabinet and door locks (in my spare time, of course).

Leave a Reply

