A couple weeks ago I decided to take the plunge and sign up for this service online called Gym Pact. I remember Thor sending me an article about it last year, but I was a little skeptical and never signed up. Recently, I saw a friend on Facebook had posted something from Gym Pact and I figured if someone I knew was trying it, I could too (naturally).

Basically, you download the app on your phone. Then you set a goal of how many times a week you want to work out (mine is 5x) and also set an amount you would get charged for each day you DON’T work out (I chose $5). However, you also get paid once a week if you DO meet your goal (amount depends on your goal). Since I typically workout 5 times a week anyway, I think I should get paid for it – right? and on those cold, dark mornings where I just don’t feel like getting out of bed, now I have an accountability piece.

You check-in via the app when you get to your gym (it locates via GPS), or your activity gets tracked when you are wearing your iPhone with an arm band if you workout outdoors. Also, you have to workout a minimum of 30 minutes.

This last week, I made a whole $1.75! I know it doesn’t seem like much, but it’s kind of exciting. For me, it totally works.

Image

I know this doesn’t exactly pertain to any blog goals, but in daily life I’m a goal setter (how the hell do you get things done without setting up an expectation and a plan?!). So check it out!

Leave a Reply

