Words of the Week: Jackanapes and Kibitzer

Yes, both the words jackanapes and kibitzer appeared on my daily vocabulary list this week. While I suppose it’s a good thing that I pretty much knew most of the daily words already, these two rang a bell but I really didn’t know exactly what they meant.

Jackanapes refers to an impudent, presumptuous person, especially a young man; and kibitzer refers to a giver of unwanted advice. I figure I could fit both of those into my daily vocabulary everyday if I wanted to at work. I can’t wait to tell kids they are jackanapes in class, wherein I’m sure they will think I have become a kibitzer.

However, I’m still a little confused. So jackanapes refers to just one person? Nowhere in the definition did I see the word “plural,” so then my next question is what is the plural of jackanapes?

On a side note, I can’t tell you how many times hypnopompic has come up in conversation! Score!

Leave a Reply

