Books of August

Arg. I only read two books this month. But they were both really LONG! and I’m halfway through the third, so it’s not like I’m not reading………….

Two good ones this month!

Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool, #1-5)Wool (Omnibus) by Hugh Howey – Let’s face it. I’m a scifi nerd, but a highly literate one, which makes finding quality scifi/fantasy books challenging. This one is really good, and let me note that I was in on this book from the beginning. I’m certain it will become a tv series. Basically, it’s a post-apocalyptic story about people who live in a pretty organized silo underground. I don’t want to give any spoilers, but what I can say is that while I kept thinking I knew what would happen next, I was constantly wrong. It has character-driven chapters (that seemed reminiscent of LOST) and cliffhangers where I sometimes felt I couldn’t read fast enough. Howey paints an increasingly expanding picture of what the setting looks like and I felt like I could see every nook and cranny of the underground (and perhaps above ground…?) world. The best part is that this is just the beginning of what looks like a pretty amazing series. Dad, this one’s for you.

Addie Pray by Joe David Brown – I had always wanted to read this book because the movie, Paper Moon, has always stuck with me and I’ve probably watched it once a year since I was a kid. Set during the Great Depression in Kansas (so you know I love that!), a young orphan girl and her maybe father set go around grifting through the midwest. They bicker with each other while teaming up to rip people off – it’s pretty hilarious. The movie is based on the first 1/3 of the book, and there were times where I felt like I was reading the actual script because the two were so close. However, the book continued the story and I found myself not as enthralled. Overall, it was a good read and I think it’s one of those books that never got enough attention, but I would highly recommend you watch the movie because it’s just so damned good.

Leave a Reply

