Prepping for Floral Arrangements

The Rose Festival is coming up, and for those who are not familiar with the event, it’s this awesome carnival downtown on the waterfront. Awesome meaning that all the freaks from outer suburbs of Portland get dolled up carnie style and take over the waterfront for a week. All the hipsters and Portlandia style people wouldn’t be caught dead there, unless they want to post Instagram pics of a ferris wheel on Facebook. I, personally, think it’s overpriced but I always seem to take a friend from out of town just so they can have the experience of getting hit on by an Insane Clown Posse fan (Kristin, this might be your year!).

Anyway, last year I accompanied a co-worker on a completely different Rose Festival venture that I instantly knew would become a tradition. Basically, the end of the Rose Festival is wrapped up with the infamous Rose Parade (all the floats are enormous floral arrangements) – but have you ever wondered what they do with the flowers AFTER the parade is over???? I never did, but when she told me that there was a secret location to legally pilfer all the flowers from the floats, I had to see it in action.

So in a couple weeks, my house will be RIFE with fresh flowers of all varieties. I’ve been looking up articles online and reading up on floral arrangements on Martha Stewart…so hopefully I will have some fun pics to share.

Here’s a link to the Rose Festival page with all sorts of events…don’t forget to pack your Ed Hardy shirt.

Leave a Reply

