First Fail of the Year

Ok so I admit it: I didn’t read three books in March. You might be saying, “What gives? You laid in bed for two weeks straight from surgery!” To which I will reply, yes, I thought the same thing PRE-surgery but then the actual laying around part was not exactly how I expected it to be.

I am honestly in the middle of a book called The Lost City of Z, which my amazing friend and college roommate, Drew, recommended. He’s literally an underwater archaeologist who travels the world and we were meeting up for a drink at the airport, so I trust his knowledge of survivalist books. 

Anyway, needless to say that during the first couple days of surgery, I was laden with Oxycodone and while I may have been coherent enough for bad television, anytime I tried to read or do a crossword the words were all spinning and drug-hazy. By the end of the week, I was no longer on pain pills so I was extremely awake and extremely bored, but my mind just couldn’t FOCUS. Typically I have a lot of energy which is proven by the fact that I get up at 4:45am to go to the gym AND THEN TEACH A CLASS OF 35 SIXTH GRADERS. I think my mind was also in a state of shock. By the last few days of my bed rest, I had past the point of being sorry for myself and settled into a general apathetic court tv watching malaise. 

BUT! that doesn’t mean I didn’t read anything! If anything, I read so many trivial news stories that I’m a veritable internet encyclopedia! So here’s what I’m gonna do: I am picking the top five best things I read on the internet last week. (And let’s be honest: you’re not going to read a book I recommend, but you WILL click on a sleazy article). This is me opening up my internet trolling to you – don’t judge.

1. Serbian Gangster Kills a Dude and Eats Him

2. Belvedere Vodka’s Incredibly Offensive Advertising

3. The Origins of the Word Dude

4. An App that Looks and Sounds Like a Fireplace (yes, I bought this to project on the screen in my classroom)

5. Watch the latest National Geographic Team Ascend Mt. Everest Live!

 

Leave a Reply

